top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhianon Tyer

Mankind's Collapse

It finally happened!


So, as of 14th July 2023, my text based adventure game made with Twine is now live on itch! Currently only the introduction sequence is there, but I am actively working on the next act as well as working on tidying up what is currently there according to feedback I've received.

Itch Page: https://sparky-sparks01.itch.io/mankinds-collapse


Previously, in Twine I was using the "go to passage link" function for every decision the player could make, meaning that during a conversation when the player chooses a response, it would take them to a new passage for that answer. I was informed that this felt jarring and disconnected the conversation due to the transition. This was the typical way I was doing any choices. This method works fine for actions but when it is halfway through a conversation, players told me it created a disconnect from what was spoken about as they couldn't re-read the conversation prior to the choice they made.

So instead, I have since altered the code that handles these response choices during conversations to look something more like this. When the player clicks one of these choices, the other non-selected choices disappear and is displays the text within that passage that it previously would've changed to. This way, players can then experience the conversation as a whole including the decision they made. It also avoided having an entire passage change for a choice that maybe only affected the next 2 lines of dialogue and nothing else.

Changing to this method has also cleaned up my view of Twine when working on the project. These new "links" do not cause arrows between the parent passage and the passage that link displays, making my project tidier and easier to follow when I'm figuring out the flow of the story from passage to passage. Although most of the arrows in this screenshot lead up to the objectives, inventory and journal, it gives an idea of how much tidier the project now looks. On the topic of keeping tidy and organised, I use colour coded tags to indicate quick information about each passage which are as follows: Purple is optional content, Blue is main story, Red is when an objective is received, Green is when an objective is completed, Yellow in this instance in the Introduction Act and Orange is Act 1.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

News!

So, it's been a while since I made a blog post and due to a bunch of changes lately I thought I'd make a quick update one just to show some things I'm working on! As of literally the past day or two,

bottom of page